Effects of Music on Children

Everyone listens to music, the only difference is what type. Some, like my mom, like country. Others, such as Daddy, like ’80s. I’m more of an Evanescence/Fall Out Boy/Linkin Park/Three Days Grace/Panic! at the Disco kind of person.

But does listening to a song about suicide make someone slit their wrists? I have to say that kids are very susceptible to do what is considered cool or in, and most likely, no amount of persuasion or “Say no!” speeches is going to change that. But honestly, everyone is exposed to that kind of stuff. No offense to anybody, but just because you don’t let your middle school children listen to it in music, watch it on TV or in movies, or let them read about it in books doesn’t mean that they are not going to hear all about it at school.

You’d be surprised what people talk about in the 6th grade. Make everyone a little taller and we could probably be mistaken for high schoolers, some of us college kids.

Most people pick music based on their moods; example- if they’re happy, a happy song by JoJo or Rihanna or some other [annoying!] pop artist. If they’re sad, maybe “I’ve Got a Dark Alley and a Bad Idea that Says You Should Shut Your Mouth (Summer Song)” by Fall Out Boy (that song is actually one of my favorites!) or “Time to Dance” by Panic! at the Disco. Some mad songs are “Going Under” by Evanescence or “I Can do Better” by Avril Lavigne.

Just because you listen to it doesn’t mean you eat, drink, sleep, and breathe it. Just because you don’t listen to it doesn’t mean you don’t ever hear about it.

~ by skdunning on 17 October, 2007.

3 Responses to “Effects of Music on Children”

  1. Evanescence/Fall Out Boy/Linkin Park/Three Days Grace/Panic! at the Disco are all (annoying) pop artists

  2. I am sorry if I offended you. The whole idea of music is based on a matter of opinion, and I was not suggesting that everyone would love artists if they got more mainstream attention. I was just trying to say that it isn’t fair to people like Coheed and Cambria if Rihanna is the only person we see on VH1 all day.

    And about Evanescence, Fall Out Boy, Linkin Park, Three Days Grace, and Panic! At the Disco being pop, I must pull out my magical dictionary and prove you wrong. Pop music is POPULAR, not described as a certain type of sound; it’s just music a lot of people listen to. More people have heard the song “Shut Up And Drive” than the song “Tuna Afternoon” (Ev fans, you know what I mean!). If you don’t believe me, you can go up to 50 people and say, “Have you heard of Rihanna? Ok, now have you heard of Jon Spencer?”

  3. I don’t like your music but I agree with your reasoning wholeheartedly. Just another reason I love America: freedom to choose what we listen to!

Leave a comment